This is the "Ebooks" page of the "Ebooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ebooks  

Last Updated: Jul 1, 2014 URL: http://yc.campusguides.com/ebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Ebooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Ebooks

Copyright Guidelines for YC Databases

Cover Art
African American Music Reference  Icon
African American Music Reference contains 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

Cover Art
Classical Music Reference Library  Icon
Classical Music Reference Library brings together more than 40,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.

Cover Art
Classical Scores Library  Icon
The largest and most comprehensive online scores database is designed to support the teaching and research of classical music. It provides online access to more than 25,000 scores and nearly 440,000 pages that can be printed and annotated.

Cover Art
Credo (Academic, Religion, & Psychology Collections)  Icon
Contains Academic Core collection, Religion Collection Volume 1, and Psychology Collection Volume 1. Over 500 reference titles that include images, sound and video.

Cover Art
Ebrary
The ebrary Academic & Public collection offers simultaneous, multi-user access to more than 80,000 ebook titles in subject areas including Social Sciences, Humanities, Allied Health, Science and Business.

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
Formerly West’s Encyclopedia of American Law, this new edition updates and expands on the classic title and contains a complete overview of American law – historical and current terms, concepts, events, movements, cases, individuals and much more.

Cover Art
Literature Criticism Online (LCO)
Extensive resource on literary reviews and criticism on short stories, poetry, Shakespeare, 19th - 20th Century and contemporary literature, and biographies of authors.

Cover Art
Magill's Medical Guide, Seventh Edition
This guide contains 1000+ articles on such topics as: addictions & substance abuse, complementary & alternative medicine, genetics & inherited diseases, infectious diseases and conditions, psychology & mental health, healthcare careers, and contemporary biographies in healthcare.

Cover Art
Milestone Documents in American History
A collection of primary source documents that have shaped American history from 1763 - 2003. Full-text as well as an explanation and analysis of the documents are included.

Cover Art
MyiLibrary  Icon
Access to various ebooks in subject areas including literature, health, and the humanities. Ebooks will be added to this collection each year.

Cover Art
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online  Icon
The first comprehensive online resource is devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, 300 audio recordings, and entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.

Free Public Ebooks

 

Ask A Librarian

 

Ebook Myths

Myth
All ebooks can be downloaded

Publishers may place restrictions on ebooks which prevent them from being downloaded.  Sometimes they allow the whole book to be downloaded and other times you are limited to a certain number of pages.   

Myth
You need an e-reader to view ebooks

Ebooks can be viewed on iPads, smartphones, computers, tablets, or other devices which have the appropriate software.

Myth
All ebooks can be printed

Publishers can limit the number of pages printed from an ebook.

Example: Most ebooks in Ebrary allow a maximum of 60 pages printed per day.  Some publishers though, have set a more restrictive printing limit for their books in Ebrary.

 

Common Ebook File Formats

Cover Art
ePub
A free and open standard e-book file format, adopted by the International Digital Publishing Forum.

Cover Art
PDF
A file format created by Adobe.
PDFs are widely supported by most e-book readers and smartphones.

Cover Art
Kindle Format 8
Proprietary DRM restricted file format for Amazon Kindle.

Cover Art
Mobi
File format used for some PDAs as well as the Kindle

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip